Lamberhurst is an ancient village. A church has stood on this spot for over a thousand years (apparently, the yew tree in its grounds is dated at over 1500 years!). We are also lucky that much of this local history has been documented by a number of dedicated and incredibly knowledgeable local historians. John Moon is perhaps the pre-eminent author - many of his books essays and pamphlets can be bought from Peter Sands butcher's shop (a fount of local knowledge in its own right). Barbara Uren's history of the lives of those commemorated on the War Memorial also stands out.
But there are other authors with fascinating stories to tell, and we intend to put part or all of their rich storytelling on this website.
For now, anyone with an interest in the history of our parish church or school may read about these by clicking on the items in the History Pages menu on the left.
LAMBERHURST WAR MEMORIAL
AND THE BOOK OF REMEMBRANCE
IN GRATEFUL MEMORY
THE 44 MEN OF LAMBERHURST
WHO LOVING HONOUR ABOVE EASE
DIED FOR THEIR COUNTRY
IN THE GREAT WAR 1914 – 1918
AND THE SECOND WORLD WAR 1939 - 1945
Read about these men, the work of Barbara Uren and the Lamberhurst War Memorial on the site below.
ROYAL BRITISH LEGION ROLL OF HONOUR
Biography of an ex landlord at the Elephant's Head
Go to the link, choose "Biographies" and select George Gurr 1834-1894.
Do you have any photos, stories or reminiscences that you would like to share with us so that this page can grow? If so, email the editor.
NEW HISTORY OF LAMBERHURST
Two fascinating new books, describing the history of our village, are now available.
Concise and readable, the first book takes us from the early establishment of the dens through to the modern day, exploring all the industries which have kept Lamberhurst alive over the centuries, and giving an insight into the techniques used in those industries. You will discover, for example, not only that Lamberhurst was once home to a clothmaking industry, including a fulling mill, but also what the fulling process was and how it was done.
The second volume (cover shown above) gives a more in-depth look at many of Lamberhurst's historic houses, their architectural features and their historic importance. These books are a must for anyone interested in the history of our village. They are available for purchase at Victoria House Stores.
Hook Green Life in the 1940s
Mr Robert Dancy, who lived at the Hook Green Post Office and Stores from 1938 until 1960, has kindly sent us copies of his memories and agreed to share them with us on the website. The first is entitled "Hook Green Life in the 1940s" The second is entitled "Wartime in Kent" and very much focuses on the Hook Green and Lamberhurst areas. It is reproduced here in three parts for reasons of size. Both make fascinating reading. Click on the pdf links below to enjoy these memories.