LAMBERHURST, JEWEL OF THE HIGH WEALD - A NEW HISTORY OF LAMBERHURST BY ROGER PITCHFORK
CLOTH MANUFACTURING IN LAMBERHURST (circa 1275 - 1620)
Spinning and weaving had taken place in Lamberhurst on a small domestic scale in antiquity like in most towns and villages, but never progressed beyond this to the finishing processes in the production of cloth, fulling and finishing (or 'dressing') .
Then around 1275, a yeoman named Robert Cogger, moved to Lamberhurst. He was to build Coggers Hall in the village as his main seat circa 1280, but more importantly, single handedly rescued the village from virtual economic collapse through the crash in the wool market.......................
Click on the pdf document below to read more.
These two fascinating volumes,, describing the history of our village, are now available from Victoria House Stores.
Below is an extract from Volume One.